Shadow Man Asian Literary Prize 2011: Reviews from the week November 27 to December 3

Shadow Man Asian Literary Prize 2011 Badge

Image created by Matt Todd of A Novel Approach

Week 3 of our Shadow Man Asian Literary Prize 2011 longlist reviewing project brings you …

  • Mahmoud Dowlatabadi’s The colonel (Iran) from Lisa of ANZLItLovers. This sounds quite different in style and structure, but worth reading, particularly since it’s from a country whose literature is little known to me.
  • Yan Lianke’s Dream of Ding Village (China) from Matt of A Novel Approach, and Yan Lianke’s Dream of Ding Village (China) from Fay of Read, Ramble. Matt and Fay have inspired me with their reviews to put this on my high priority list.

Ad hoc Man Asian News

kimbofo of Reading Matters advised us earlier this week that Wandering falcon won  the Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize 2011. Does that suggest it might be a high contender for the shortlist?

PS: My promised review didn’t eventuate this week as I’ve been in Sydney for the weekend. But I’ve nearly finished my first book, so my review is not long coming!

3 thoughts on “Shadow Man Asian Literary Prize 2011: Reviews from the week November 27 to December 3

  1. Pingback: Shadow Man Asian Literary Prize 2011: Reviews from the week … | Apple Bosom

  2. I admire you all for doing this – alas, Asian books are generally not my favourite as I seem fascinated by European books. I have however got Aravind Adiga’s new one Last Man in Tower my reading list (you reviewed his short stories some time ago).

    • It’s impossible to read everything isn’t it, Tom. (Still with China and India growing in power they might be worth looking at?) Yes, you remember correctly, I reviewed one of Adiga’s short stories some time ago. I’ve also read his White tiger, but before I started blogging. It was an intriguing book – won the Booker didn’t it? I’ll watch for your review.

Leave a comment